loader image
Oakhill News
Strong representation in SWD/Eden Hockey

Strong representation in SWD/Eden Hockey

A significant number of Oakhill hockey players have once again performed exceptionally well at provincial hockey trials this year with 33 Oakhill College and 13 Prep students going on to represent SWD/Eden at National and Regional Tournaments at cities throughout South Africa during the July school holidays. Oakhill is proud to have well over 15% of their College students represented at provincial level in hockey, a consistent trend for three years now.

The investment of the school in the world class astro turf at the Oakhill Sports Campus has yielded wonderful results in the ongoing skills development of the players. Oakhill staff and coaches continue to dedicate their time to developing the sport in the region, coaching and providing administrative support in the SWD/Eden Provincial Hockey structures. The players are grateful to Alastair Trafford (U13A Boys coach and U14 Boys Manager), Chicco Ponela (U16A Boys coach), Byron Sweetman (U13A Girls coach), Lumko Mart (U14 Boys Coach and U13A Boys manager), Michake Fanelo (U18 A&B Girls coach), Pheliswa Dayimani (U13B Girls and U18B Boys manager) and Rene Korsten (Chairwoman of SWD Girl’s Hockey) who have played a significant role in facilitating their growth.

Oakhill College SWD/Eden Hockey Representatives

Eden Provincial Hockey 2017 web
From left to right –

Back row: Ryan Shearer, Michael Hankins, John Tanner, Joshua Smith, Challenge Gobo, Lourens Kok, Trevor Gebhard, Sam Mvimbi
Third row: Liam Heyderickx, Keagan McCarthy, Damon Lee, Ockert Kok, Nicholas Hill, Travis Hazell, Donne de Wet, Charne de Wet, Amy Redman
Second row: Aidan le Fleur, Rick Matter, Richard du Plessis, Norshya Sonjani, Nchedi Knill, Kara Vermeulen, Sophia Trollip, Jessica van Strijp
Front row: Alex Hunziker, Julia Brymer, Nina Micklewood, Bongi Ndlovu, Viggo Platt, Sibo Kalani, Toby Tyrrell. Absent: Catherine Donnell

Oakhill Prep SWD/Eden Hockey Representatives

SWD Representatives - Prep web
From left to right –

Back row: Simon Shearer, Christopher Coetzee, Francois Hay, , Hlomla Mkefa, Aimee Canny, Alex Bridge
Front row: Tristan Vogt, Ben Tyrrell, Zena Sithonga, Lulama Mvimbi, Josie Trollip, Lily Donnell, Nina Fioravanti


Related News


Pool Excitement

The swimming pool upgrade is coming along beautifully, and we are so excited to show students when we return to…

Read More

OSC Upgrade

Our beautiful OSC is also currently undergoing a facelift! In addition to the improved bike track, the upgrade to our…

Read More


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

Recent News

Sculpting Identity

Oakhill’s Grade 10 students are focusing on portraiture and identity this term. As part of…

Arbor Week

In celebration of annual Arbor Week, Little Oaks has started their orchard garden by planting…